07/12/09 12:06 AM ET
Maddon ejected in Rays' loss to A's
Skipper argues catcher's infraction in ninth inning
By Bill Chastain / MLB.com
Maddon took exception to a catcher's infraction on the Rays' Michel Hernandez for scooping the ball with his mask, allowing A's slugger Matt Holliday to advance to third base.
According to the Elias Sports Bureau, the play is ruled an E-2 if and when the catcher uses any part of his equipment to gain control of the ball. The umpire can then make the signal to stop the game and advance the runners.
Maddon left the dugout and began arguing with home-plate umpire Jeff Nelson. His body language intensified the longer he addressed Nelson, who finally heard enough and ejected the Rays' skipper from the game.
"That was the right call by Jeff Nelson," Maddon said. "I didn't see it at first, but when I watched the replay, he was right. ... I went out there to stir it up a bit, and I was wrong."
For Maddon, the ejection was his second of the season and the 11th of his career.
Bill Chastain is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.