© 2008 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

10/21/08 1:16 PM ET

Umpires for World Series announced

Veteran Welke named crew chief for 104th Fall Classic

Tim Welke will bring a quarter of a century of experience to his role as crew chief for the 2008 World Series.

Complete Coverage
Welke, who has worked six Division Series, six League Championship Series and three World Series, will head up a crew that includes Tim Tschida, Jeff Kellogg, Tom Hallion, Kerwin Danley and Fieldin Culbreth.

All six umpires have plenty of regular-season and postseason experience. Tschida, a regular-season crew chief who just completed his 23rd year of umpiring, will be in right field for Game 1. Tschida has worked two previous World Series, in 1998 and 2002, and has also worked seven Division Series and four League Championship Series.

Kellogg, a 17-year veteran, will be in left field; Hallion, a 16-year veteran, will be at third; while Culbreth and Danley, both of whom have 12 years experience, will be at second and first, respectively.

Danley, Culbreth and Hallion will be making their first World Series appearances, though the trio has worked a combined 18 postseason series.

Steve Gilbert is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.