© 2007 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

04/18/07 6:00 PM ET

New names for Rays on All-Star ballot

Iwamura, Young could partcipate in Midsummer classic

ST. PETERSBURG -- Yes, the Devil Rays have some familiar names on the ballot for this year's All-Star Game, but several newcomers give the Rays an entirely different representation on the ballot.

Carl Crawford and Rocco Baldelli have been on the ballot for the Rays before, but Akinori Iwamura, Ben Zobrist, Ty Wigginton, Dioner Navarro, B.J. Upton, and Delmon Young are all new additions to the Rays' ballot.

Of that group, there are a couple of intriguing possibilities.

First, have Major League fans finally seen enough of Carl Crawford to make him a regular at the Midsummer Classic? The Rays left fielder has shown dramatic improvement every year while leading the American League in stolen bases two out of the past three years.

And what of Young? The Rays right fielder is a legitimate candidate to win American League Rookie of the Year honors and is off to a great start.

Fans can cast their votes for starters up to 25 times with the Monster 2007 All-Star Online Ballot at MLB.com and all 30 club sites until Thursday, June 28th at 11:59 p.m. ET.

Fans around the world will again have the opportunity to select the final player on each All-Star team via the Monster 2007 All-Star Final Vote. The vote will begin immediately following the 2007 MLB All-Star Game Selection Show Presented by Chevrolet, which will be televised by Turner Sports on Sunday, July 1.

Selecting the rosters isn't the end of the fun in 2007, either. Concluding the All-Star balloting process, fans will have the opportunity to participate in the official voting for the Ted Williams Most Valuable Player presented by Chevrolet at the All-Star Game via the Monster.com 2007 All-Star Game MVP Vote at MLB.com.

All-Star Game Coverage

The All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX Sports and televised around the world by Major League Baseball International. ESPN Radio will provide exclusive national radio coverage, while MLB.com will offer extensive online coverage and MLB Radio will have exclusive play-by-play coverage of the game on the Internet.

Left-hander Scott Kazmir was the Rays' lone representative in last year's game held in Pittsburgh. This year's game will take place in San Francisco.

In-stadium balloting will begin at Tropicana Field on May 1.

Bill Chastain is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.