ST. PETERSBURG -- The Rays released 18 Minor Leaguers on Friday. The players who were released included:

Right-handers Andy Bass, Brooks Beltre, Omar Bencomo, Micky Jannis, Dave Laufer, Ryan Turner and Tanner Biagini; left-handers Shawn Smith and Mike Jarman; outfielders Dustin Biell, Brian Bryles, Edward Dorville, Reid Fronk, Cesar Guillen, and Chris Winder; infielders Jonathan Koscso and Ryan Terry and first baseman Hector Rodriguez.